First Play Friday w/ MJ (Apr 30)

 In First Play Friday, New Music

Every Friday (between 10a-1p), MJ features SIX brand new songs from artists you already know and love, and artists you will get to know and love.

If you missed today’s FPF, check out the songs featured below!


This new one comes from Cory Marks from North Bay, Ontario. You’ve heard his single, Drive, on Now Country 1047 from the hard-hitting and awesome album released last year (2020), Who I Am. Today (Apr 30), he’s officially released a new single that album and it’s called “Blame it on the double.” It features fellow Canadians, Tyler Connolly of Theory of a dead man and Jason Hook, former lead guitarist of heavy metal band, Five Finger Death Punch!

MJ had the pleasure of chatting with Cory about the new single! Take a listen below!


Last week, Chris Lane premiered a new song called “Fill Them Boots” during a YouTube live stream. Last week, that song was featured during FPF along with a short clip of his live stream in which he told fans watching that he would be releasing more new music soon. He makes good on that promise today (Apr 30) with his latest release.


“It was definitely like a switch was flipped kind of thing.”

That is what our next first play Friday artist said of her career.

Lily Rose shared a song called “Villain,” which blew up on TikTok and quickly topped the all-genre iTunes sales chart in early December. Two months later, Lily Rose had a record deal.

Lily Rose has released a new song which follows “Villain.” It’s a song about her rise to fame, called “Overnight Sensation.”

There’s something about her voice that is so unique that you can not help but fall in love with her…take a listen below!


Our next FPF song comes from the Canadian four piece country band fronted by lead singer Tim Neufeld, Tim & The Glory Boys. Together, the band has been entertaining live audiences across Canada since 2013. The band is managed by Brad Rempel, one half of High Valley.

On the heels of their highest charting song at country radio, “Without A Prayer”, TIM & THE GLORY BOYS have released the official version of their classic, heartwarming love song, “Me Without You”!


Our next FPF song comes from Dean Brody. Written by Brody, this one is called “Lightning Bug” and was inspired by one of his very first song writing trips to Nashville. As a young artist, Brody found himself in a field of lightning bugs. Filled with wonder, Brody was reminded of  long summer nights and first feelings of falling in love nearly a decade later while writing for his most recent album. He perfectly captured these feelings when writing this one, as he said in a statement, “It’s meant to tell the story of being in love with that special someone, with an almost dreamlike soundscape. Just a light, fun tune to disappear into.”

With Brody just coming off the biggest year of his career last year, things show no sign of slowing down as 2021 has already been impressive. In addition to his “Boys” duet with country music’s fastest rising star Mickey Guyton reaching #1, he saw his 2020 smash hit “Can’t Help Myself” with The Reklaws receive PLATINUM-certification in Canada less than a year after its release. Also, Brody’s “Canadian Summer” garnered GOLD-certification and his 2012 anthem “Canadian Girls” has gone DOUBLE-PLATINUM.


Today, we kick off FPF with a song from this week’s feature artist of the new week who just released his fifth album, Country Again: Side A.

So, why did Thomas Rhett go “Country Again?”

Rhett told The Tennessean,

“I woke up one day and things just shifted. I don’t know how to explain that except for the fact that I remember one night I put my cowboy boots on for the first time to walk into a meet-and-greet and my band looked at me like I was a crazy person because I’d been wearing sneakers for the last four years on stage.”

From the new album, take a listen to “More Time Fishin'” below!



Recent Posts